Women’s National Team Triumphant

The USA dominated the Netherlands in the final match of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, beating the Netherlands 2-0 to bring home their fourth overall World Cup trophy and second consecutive World Cup trophy. 


As reigning champions, the USA faced heavy scrutiny at all stages of the tournament. Their celebrations were deemed excessive, their wins called undeserved, and their opinions premature. They even managed to gain the attention of the President. But on the day of the final, none of the criticism mattered and the USWNT continued to walk the walk. 


The first half of the match, despite the US having possession 60% of the time, was scoreless, leaving the sellout crowd of 57,900 fans anxious and ready for action. A head-to-head collision late in the first half took out Georgia native and right-back Kelley O’Hara, replaced by veteran Ali Krieger. 


Relief came in the second half, after a high kick from Dutch defender Stefanie van der Gragt drew a penalty kick. Co-captain Megan Rapinoe stepped up to take the PK, finally putting the US ahead. Rapinoe’s goal broke a World Cup record as she became the oldest player (34 years and two days) to score in a World Cup final, breaking her teammate Carli Lloyd’s previous record set in 2015.


The atmosphere of the game changed completely after that, with the US pounding shots right after left until Rose Lavelle managed to bypass two defenders and slip the ball in the lower-right corner for the final goal of the match. 


The team was awarded their medals and World Cup trophy shortly after the game concluded, with Rapinoe earning the Golden Boot, Alex Morgan the Silver Boot and Lavelle earning the Bronze Ball. 


The city of New York is holding a victory parade for the USWNT on Wednesday, July 10, at 9:30 a.m. ET.


For more professional soccer and more action from your favorite players, follow the National Women’s Soccer League.


Utah Royals: Christen Press, Kelley O’Hara and Becky Sauerbrunn.

Portland Thorns: Adrianna Franch, Lindsey Horan, Tobin Heath and Emily Sonnett.  

Seattle Reign: Megan Rapinoe and Allie Long. 

Orlando Pride: Alex Morgan, Ali Krieger and Ashlyn Harris.  

Sky Blue: Carli Lloyd.

North Carolina Courage: Abby Dahlkemper, Crystal Dunn, Samantha Mewis and Jessica McDonald.  

Chicago Red Stars: Alyssa Naeher, Julie Ertz, Tierna Davidson and Morgan Brian.  

Washington Spirit: Mallory Pugh and Rose Lavelle.